District 10 Democrats looking toward 2014 campaigns

SHELBY, N. C. (May 18, 2013)—A call to action toward victory in 2014 general elections brought an enthusiastic response from delegates to the 10th Congressional District Democratic Convention here today. That rousing message was brought by Randy Voller, chair of the North Carolina Democratic Party and keynote speaker at the 10th’s first annual convention since redistricting.

The district now comprises all of Polk, Rutherford, Cleveland, Gaston, and Lincoln counties, most of Catawba County, and the Asheville area of Buncombe. Each county was well represented by delegations elected at county conventions held in April. After morning workshops including a session on proposed changes to N. C. voting laws, delegates in convention session also elected district officers and approved resolutions to be sent forward to the state party. The convention was held in the auditorium of the Cleveland County Office Building.

Betsy Wells of Cleveland County was re-elected district chair. Other district leaders elected to new two-year terms are Aixa I. Wilson of Buncombe County, first vice chair; Christopher L. Thomason of Gaston, second vice chair; Pete L. Santos of Polk, third vice chair; Laura N. Parnell of Catawba, secretary; and Donna Luckey of Lincoln, treasurer.

The newly elected officers will guide the District’s Executive Committee, which also comprises the Democratic chair and vice chair from each of the local county parties and some others by virtue of position such as Democratic elected officials. 

Chair Wells commended the county parties for smoothly coming together after redistricting “without missing a beat,” building on earlier working relationships and forging new ones. “With the unity, focus, and optimism I see building among us, we’ll make a big difference in 2014,” she said.

NCDP Chair Randy Voller with Betsy Wells, re-elected chair of 10th District Democrats

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

Cleveland County Democratic Party

Post Office Box 334

Shelby, North Carolina  28151


Paid for by the Cleveland County Democratic Party