Candidate filing include offices at local, district, state, federal levels

U. S. Senate: Incumbent N. C. Senator Kay Hagan has two primary candidates for the Democratic nomination. Eight Republicans and two Libertarians are seeking their party's nomination for this seat. U. S. House of Representatives, District 10: Tate MacQueen of Asheville is running as the Democratic nominee for this seat, now held by Republican Patrick McHenry. McHenry has one primary challenger, Howard Lynch of Lowell. N. C. State Senate, District 46:  Emily B. Church of Valdese is unopposed as Democratic nominee for this seat and in the fall general election will face incumbent state senator Warren Daniel, unopposed for the Republican primary nomination. N. C. House of Representatives, District 110: Incumbent Republican Kelly Hastings is the only candidate filing for this seat. N. C. House of Representatives, District 111: Democrat Nick Carpenter and Republican incumbent Tim Moore are their parties' nominees. District Attorney, 27B: The incumbent is not seeking re-election. Seeking the Democratic nomination in the May 6 primary to succeed him are Colin P. McWhirter and John Bridges, both of Shelby. Michael Wayne Miller of Shelby is unopposed for the Republican nomination.

For the names of all candidates filing for election in 2014,  see the county Board of Elections list posted here. Those unopposed for their party's nomination, and the winners of party primaries will appear on the general election ballot Nov. 4. Cleveland County Board of Commissioners (two seats): Democratic filers are Willie B. McIntosh and incumbent Eddie Holbrook. Incumbent Republican Jason B. Falls has also filed. The names of all three will be on the November ballot, from among which voters will choose two. Clerk of Superior Court: Incumbent Mitzi McGraw Johnson, a Democrat, is the only candidate filing for this office. Coroner: The incumbent is not seeking re-election. Filing for the Democratic nomination to succeed him and on the May 6 primary ballot are Bruce Arton of Shelby, Tommy Carroll of Grover, Rick Garver of Lawndale, Tott D. Griffin of Shelby, Randy M. Walker of Boiling Springs, and Ovetta Youngblood-Griffin of Shelby.  Republican Robert S. Morgan has also filed. Sheriff: Incumbent Alan Norman is unopposed as the Democratic nominee, and Carl W. Jensen is the unopposed Republican nominee. Judiciary: Several non-partisan judicial races will be on ballots. . see the Board of Elections listing for the names of those filed.   (See 2014 Primary Election Guide for biographical information about primary candidates for a seat on the N. C. Supreme Court/  

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

Cleveland County Democratic Party

Post Office Box 334

Shelby, North Carolina  28151


Paid for by the Cleveland County Democratic Party