Betsy Wells elected new Tenth Congressional District Democratic chair

Aug. 23, 2012--Redistricting changed the boundaries of the N. C. Tenth Congressional District, although Cleveland was not one of the counties affected.  One consequence, however, was that every single elected officer of the Tenth Dem organization was redistricted “out” of the Tenth, and the decision was made by the North Carolina Democratic Party to go ahead and hold elections for successor officers now instead of waiting for the May 2013 convention. Cliff Moone, outgoing Tenth chair, called a meeting Aug. 16 in Shelby for the “new” Executive Committee of the reorganized Tenth for the purpose of electing officers to serve the remainder of the former officers’ terms until the convention. 

We’re delighted to report that Cleveland County’s Betsy Wells was elected unanimously and with no opposition to the chair post by the group of county chairs and vice chairs, glad to be able to call on her know-how, experience, and contacts in this campaign season. 

The Tenth District previously comprised all or parts of 10 counties. The new district boundary comprises all of six counties--Cleveland, Rutherford, Gaston, Lincoln, Catawba, and Polk--and generally the Asheville area of Buncombe County. Cleveland no longer has congressional district ties with Burke, Mitchell, Avery, Iredell, and Caldwell counties. 

The Aug. 16 District Executive Committee meeting was also a time to renew acquaintances and forge new ones. Buncombe County Dem Chair Emmet Carney was present to bring greetings from the mountains and pledge cooperation with counties to the south and east. The Buncombe party has the challenge of working with two congressional districts, as others such as Gaston have in the past. “We’re so glad to all be in the Tenth where we belong!” the Gaston folks said.

Other new Tenth officers elected were Nancy Moore of Gaston, second vice chair, Donna Luckey of Lincoln, third vice chair, and Ginnie Watson of Gaston, treasurer. The positions of first vice chair and secretary remain to be filled.

New Tenth District officers above are, left to right, Ginnie Watson of Gaston, treasurer, Betsy Wells of Cleveland, chair, and Nancy Moore of Gaston, second vice chair.

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

Cleveland County Democratic Party

Post Office Box 334

Shelby, North Carolina  28151


Paid for by the Cleveland County Democratic Party