2015 Annual county Democratic convention: facing forward!

Convention held: About 75 local Democrats convened Saturday, April 11, 2015, in the County Office Building auditorium, marking the start of the two-year political process leading to the election of a U. S. president, senator, and representatives, N. C. governor and legislators, and county officials across the state. 

We had a lively time at convention! Read all about it in our news release here. Some highlights:

New CCDP officers elected for two-year terms: Our new county party chair is Joyce Sheaffer of Earl, N. C., veteran Rippy precinct leader. She succeeds Robin Smith of Kings Mountain, given standing applause in appreciation of her service. Other new officers are Steve Padgett of Casar, first vice chair; Leatha Lockhart of Shelby, second vice chair; Nick Carpenter of Shelby, third vice chair; and Carla Burton-Griffin of Shelby, secretary. Doris Williams of Kings Mountain was re-elected treasurer.

State Executive Committee members named: Elected to represent us on the NCDP State Executive Committee are Sheaffer as chair, Padgett, Carpenter, Smith, and Todd Hagans of Kings Mountain.

Thanks to precinct leaders: Great thanks to the leaders of our Democratic precinct organizations in Cleveland County!  Earlier, in February, we held annual precinct meetings and elected these leaders and delegates to the county convention. It was great to see these leaders and their delegations sitting together on convention day and planning for the months ahead. Click here for a list of these leaders and more about precinct organizations.

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

Cleveland County Democratic Party

Post Office Box 334

Shelby, North Carolina  28151


Paid for by the Cleveland County Democratic Party