We are proud of our Democratic candidates in the 2018 general election.  Thank you for your willingness to run for office.  

David Wilson Brown

Future Congressman

Seeking the U.S. 10th Congressional  District seat against Rep. Patrick McHenry.


This district includes parts of Buncombe, Iredell, and Catawba counties as well as the entirety of Cleveland, Gaston, Lincoln, Polk, and Rutherford counties.

Chris Gash

Future Cleveland County Commissioner

Seeking a 4-year term on the board of Cleveland County Commissioners.

Eddie Holbrook

Cleveland County Commissioner

Seeking his 3rd, 4-year term on the board of Cleveland County Commissioners.

Caroline Dedmon

Future Cleveland County Commisioner

Seeking the un-expired 2 year term as County Commissioner.

David Brinkley

Future Member of the N.C. House

Seeking the N.C. House District 111 seat against Tim Moore.

N. C. House District 111 is entirely within Cleveland County. It includes all precincts except Waco, Shelby 4, Shelby 5, and most of of Shelby Central. 

Christy McCleary

Future Member of the N.C. House

Seeking the N.C. House District 110 seat against Kelly Hastings.

N.C. House District 110 includes all of Cleveland County, as well as much of Gaston County.

David Lee Lattimore

Future Member of the N.C. Senate

Seeking the N.C. Senate District 44 seat against Ted Alexander.

Recent redistricting court rulings mean that, for the 2018 election, Cleveland County will be included  in State Senate District 44 along with Lincoln County and a small part of Gaston County.

Alan Norman

Cleveland County Sheriff

Seeking his 3rd, 4-year term as Cleveland County Sheriff.

Mitzi Johnson

Clerk of Superior Court

Seeking her next, 4-year term as Clerk of Superior Court.

Anita Earls

Future NC Supreme Court Judge

Anita Earls, a civil rights attorney,  is running for a seat on the N C. Supreme Court. She is challenging incumbent Republican Judge Barbara Jackson, who is seeking re-election as well as another Republican, Christopher (Chris) Anglin.

Judge John Arrowood

Appellate Court Judge

Judge John Arrowood was appointed to serve on the North Carolina Court of Appeals by Governor Roy Cooper in April 2017.  He previously served on the Court from 2007 to 2008 after being appointed by Governor Mike Easley. He is seeking re-election to a full term.

Allegra Collins

Future Appellate Court Judge

Allegra Collins is an appellate attorney who also teaches at Campbell University's law school. She is seeking one of three seats on the ballot for the NC Appellate Court.

Toby Hampson

Future Appellate Court Judge

Toby is a partner at the Raleigh firm of Wyrick, Robbins, Yates & Ponton where he leads the firm’s Appellate Practice group. He is seeking one of three seats on the ballot for the NC Appellate Court.

Judge Ali B. Paksoy Jr.

District 27B Judge

District Court Judge Ali B. Paksoy Jr. is seeking a fourth, four-year term on the bench of District 27B. He has one Republican opponent.

Judge Forrest Donald Bridges

District 27B Judge

Forrest D. Bridges is the senior resident superior court judge for the Seventh Division of the Superior Court27B Judicial District, serving Cleveland and Lincoln counties in North Carolina. He has been in office since 1995 & has no republican opposition in the 2018 race.

Please reload

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

Cleveland County Democratic Party

Post Office Box 334

Shelby, North Carolina  28151


Paid for by the Cleveland County Democratic Party